Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Do not find the mistake in a small routine!!! Post 302514203 by michaelrozar17 on Friday 15th of April 2011 05:09:12 AM
Old 04-15-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jurgen
remove_list='_12345_ _54321_ _2468_ _abcde_'
for delete in `echo remove_list`
do
sed -e "/$delete/d" old_list > updated_list
done
remove_list is a file or a variable..? If its a file use cat instead of echo else if its a variable use $ sign before the name.
Code:
for delete in `echo $remove_list`

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Directory find in small and capitals

I've a very trivial thing bothering me. I'm rather new in scripting so I'll keep asking stupid questions. Here is small script that does backup of mails. --- for i in `cat /maildir.dir` do echo $i maildir=`echo $i|sed 's@^./usr/@@'` for j in $i/* do && { st="`find $j/backup -name "*"... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nitin
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Crontab Mistake!!!

Hi. I hope someone can help me with this problem. Being a novice to Unix, I editted my crontab directly by typing " crontab -e ". Well, I needed to make some changes so, I typed " crontab -r ". Now I have no crontab, and I can't seem to get crontab to write a new file. I' ve tried: vi... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: cstovall
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sub routine call

in windows machine... C:\2\test>perl -version This is perl, v5.6.1 built for MSWin32-x86-multi-thread (with 1 registered patch, see perl -V for more detail) ------------------------------------------ what is the difference b\w subroutine calls: sub_routine_name("-----"); and ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sekar sundaram
2 Replies

4. AIX

Did a Mistake with HACMP