Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Multiple Variables for BASH script Post 302510790 by eclerget on Tuesday 5th of April 2011 03:26:30 AM
Old 04-05-2011
Multiple Variables for BASH script

Hello, I am new to the whole "scripting" thing. Below is the script that I have so far and where i need the Variables to go (VAR#)
Code:
#!/bin/bash
#Sample Script

VAR1=

echo "Choose an option: 1) Create a file. 2) Delete a file. 3) Move a file." 
read VAR1

case $VAR1 in
  1)
   echo "Pick new file name."
touch VAR2   
;;
  2)
   echo "Pick name of file to delete:"
rm VAR2
   ;;
  3)
   echo "Select Source File:"
read VAR2
   echo "Select Destination:"
read VAR3
   ;;  
  *)
   echo "Invalid option, please try again."
   ;;
esac

Im just not sure where in the script to include what VAR2 and VAR3 = would it be in the same area as VAR1= is located? please help if someone could.

store their choice in a variable named VAR2
store their choice in a variable named VAR3

---------- Post updated at 03:26 AM ---------- Previous update was at 03:06 AM ----------

oh also forgot to mention that I am using ubuntu 9.10

Last edited by Franklin52; 04-05-2011 at 04:22 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

trying to create a script with multiple variables...

I have created a script that prompts the user to enter three variables that are seperated by a space as the delimiter. It then performs a command 3 seperate times for each variable entered. I want the script to llow the user to enter as many variables as they may like and the script to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Italy87
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unable to change environment variables in bash script