Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help with text analysis - UNIX Post 302509265 by John0101 on Wednesday 30th of March 2011 11:24:43 AM
Old 03-30-2011
Help with text analysis - UNIX

Hey Guys

I recently posted yesterday about trying to count the amount of separate words that exists in a text file e.g. walle.txt.
i want the output to give to give me a list of words with a number next indicating how many times its came up in the file e.g:
cat 20
the 11
if 40

I'm completely new to Unix, I'm currently using the bash terminal from a Macbook Pro. I am running this on some example file scripts, is what i'm trying to do possible? if so please help.

Thanks

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I convert unix text to to win text?

How do I convert unix text files into readable text for windows. Dave (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nucca
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK script: decrypt text uses frequency analysis

Ez all! I have a question how to decrypt text uses letter frequency analysis. I have code which count the letters, but what i need to do after that. Can anybody help me to write a code. VERY NEEDED! My code now: #!/usr/bin/awk -f BEGIN { FS="" } { for (i=1; i <= NF; i++) { if ($i... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: SerJel
4 Replies

3. Programming

Regarding stack analysis

I would like to know how I could do the following : void func(){ int a = 100; b=0; int c = a/b; } void sig_handler (int sig,siginfo_t *info,void *context){ //signal handling function //here I want to access the variables of func() } int main(){ struct sigaction *act =... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: vpraveen84
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

text file analysis