Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: openssl installing certs
Operating Systems Solaris openssl installing certs Post 302509222 by MichaelInDC on Wednesday 30th of March 2011 10:13:05 AM
Old 03-30-2011
openssl installing certs

First, let me openly admit that I am a dummy when it comes to openssl. I've never used it before.

I am running SunOS 5.10. I am trying to install the certs for openssl but have no idea how to do that.

What I have done so far:

1. Created a CSR using the following command:
openssl req -newkey rsa:2048 -nodes -out myserver.csr -keyout myserver.key

2. I then submitted myserver.csr to Cybertrust and received 2 files back: 12345_cert.pem and 12345_chainp7.pem

3. Copied both files to /etc/sfw/openssl/certs.

Now what do I do. I'm sorry if this is a ridiculous question, but I am completely lost. Does the cert need to be imported? And how do I test that the cert is properly installed, and that the cert itself is good?

Thanks everyone!!

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

ssl certs

Hi all can anyone tell me how i can discover the strength of encryption in an ssl cert. I have used various methods ie apps and verisign web page but they just give me general info. I need to know the encryption level. The cert in question is used in Weblogic application for Solaris 8 any... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: silvaman
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

terminal sessions and certs

Hello a few Q's that if anyone knows the answer to i would be grateful: :confused: when exiting a terminal session run through a windows environment i can either type exit or use ctrl +D. I was wondering if one way was a 'cleaner' method to exit then the other or whether it is executed the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hu$h
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

novell certs ?