Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Speculative Shell Feature Brainstorming Post 302507770 by Corona688 on Thursday 24th of March 2011 05:52:53 PM
Old 03-24-2011
Maybe there's a better way I can explain myself. I originally started programming in gwbasic.

Code:
LET B=1
PRINT "Okay, B is " + B

Almost immediately I wanted to feed PRINT's output into a string. There's no direct way to do it. I ended up saving its output into a file then reading it back, which worked.

Eventually I graduated to quickbasic, which let me make subroutines. Out of curiosity, I tried to see if I could make my own PRINT.

Turns out, you can't. Print's a builtin, which makes it "special".
  1. You can't make a sub that takes an unknown number of arguments.
  2. Arguments have to be seperated by "," so a sub will never work quite the same way as PRINT.
  3. All subroutines must be called with CALL. You can't just say the name and have it work.

You can't have a variable that does anything either, even though there are some are kludged into in BASIC as builtins -- like DATE$, which sets the date. (and causes havoc for vbscript writers who aren't aware of this behavior.)

Later I tried to make a subroutine that evaluated expressions. Not flexible enough. What I eventually had to do was convert the expression it was fed into a .BAS file, and execute another instance of qbasic to evaluate it. Basic's not orthogonal: You can't use the things you build for it the same way you can use the things that're built in.

Even the worst Bourne shell makes these problems almost trivial, because -- for all its faults -- the Bourne shell is very orthogonal. There's almost no corners where environment vars, global vars, local vars, files, strings, builtins, aliases, functions or external programs have to be used in one particular way over another, and it can feed its own output and expressions back into itself seamlessly and Do The Right Thing(tm).