Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting find values between values in two different fields Post 302507048 by redse171 on Tuesday 22nd of March 2011 03:59:27 PM
Old 03-22-2011
Hi Chubler_XL,

It works great!! Thanks so much for kind help Smilie

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

plus values from two files differient fields.

Hi Everyone, I have two files: filea: Sun Jun 21 14:37:56 2009 1 2 3 Sun Jun 21 11:47:16 2009 2 3 4 fileb: Sun Jun 21 14:37:56 2009 1 2 3 Sun Jun 21 11:47:17 2009 33 44 55 The output is filec: Sun Jun 21... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy_y
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

distinct values of all the fields

I am a beginner to scripting, please help me in this regard. How do I create a script that provides a count of distinct values of all the fields in the pipe delimited file ? I have 20 different files with multiple columns in each file. I needed to write a generic script where I give the number... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vukkusila
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

distinct values of all the fields

I am a beginner to scripting, please help me in this regard. How do I create a script that provides a count of distinct values of all the fields in the pipe delimited file ? I have 20 different files with multiple columns in each file. I needed to write a generic script where I give the number... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vukkusila
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Assigning fields values to different variables

Hi, I have this code: cat file.txt | awk -F, 'NR==1{print $6","$8","$10","$20","$21","$19}' > file.tmp VAR1=`cat file.tmp | cut -d "," -f1` VAR2=`cat file.tmp | cut -d "," -f2` VAR3=`cat file.tmp | cut -d "," -f3`; VAR4=`cat file.tmp | cut -d "," -f4`; VAR5=`cat... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Tr0cken
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting