Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help needed for nohup time
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help needed for nohup time Post 302505090 by saswati16 on Wednesday 16th of March 2011 08:27:05 AM
Old 03-16-2011
Question Help needed for nohup time

Hi All,
Firstly thanks for reading my query..I am a complete newbie in Unix and I recently read about nohup command which is responsible to continue execution in background. But I have found some command where time is used alongwith nohup as given below:-

nohup time A.sh &

I don't know why that time option is given? Can you please give me a reply about using that time option alongwith nohup??

Thanks in Advance,
Saswati

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

DiffElapsed time between unix timestamps help needed...

Does anyone know a perl script/utility/etc. to calculate the time in seconds between two unix time stamps? Any help will be appreciated. -bozzhawg (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bozzhawg
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

urgent help needed!!in copying files to /tmp at boot time,pls help!

Hi all, I am trying to boot a an OS from RAM...(its a opensolaris based distro) For this i have picked up 2 key lib files that when copied to /tmp and mounted to respective places will do the job.. The sizes of these files combined comes upto 600mb.(i have 2gb ram) Now i have also located the... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: wrapster
0 Replies

3. HP-UX

Time Zone Change Needed

Need help with a timezone change for my user profile on HPUX, from UTC to PDT8PST pgop:/home/pgop > date Thu Sep 25 15:09:50 UTC 2008 to Thu Sep 25 08:12:44 PDT 2008 Tried looking through manuals for date over this to no luck!! :confused: (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pgop
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Run process with nohup every certain time

Hi, I need execute a script every 30 minutes. As might be done without using cron Thx. (6 Replies)