Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: can't execute a shell script
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers can't execute a shell script Post 302501987 by homeboy on Sunday 6th of March 2011 10:04:33 AM
Old 03-06-2011
I created the directory /home/kinsley for kinsley before i copied the script into that directory.I didn't not get any output and error code while i executing that script,it looked like an endless loops without any output.The dot after while means TRUE In bash shell,isn't it?I use ubuntu 10.10 2.6.35-22-generic

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to execute shell Script?

I am new to UNIX , Can any one let me know how to execute shell script (i.e which command I have to use for the same). Any help would be appreciated. Thanks siva mymvs999@yahoo.com (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: siva
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Execute Shell Script

Hi all, I am begginer of UNIX . I dont know if i have a script written in korn shell with .ksh extention . If i want to execute that how can i do that? Can anybody suggest the best book to learn korn shell scripting. Thanks sam71 (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sam71
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

To call/execute a shell script from a shell script

Hi , I have 4 shell scripts a.ksh b.ksh -> depends on a.ksh success -> log into b.log c.ksh -> depends on b.ksh success -> log into c.log d.ksh -> depends on c.ksh success -> log into d.log I will have to write main.ksh ( execute a.ksh , log into a.log if a.ksh= success, execute... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: konark
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

not able to execute shell script

HI, bash-2.05# more mysqlstoporaclestart.sh #!/bin/sh mysqladmin -u root -pengineer shutdown su - oracle -c "bash /export/home/oracle/oracle.sh" bash-2.05# more /export/home/oracle/oracle.sh /oracle/bin/sqlplus "/as sysdba"<< EOF startup nomount... (2 Replies)