Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Substitution/Addition
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Substitution/Addition Post 302497449 by vgersh99 on Thursday 17th of February 2011 08:14:40 AM
Old 02-17-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdcwayx
@kurumi @vgersh99

There are two requests.
as stated: "the rest is left as an exercise for the OP"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition problem

Hello Seniors!!! I am trying to add to lines on a file which is delimited by character "|". input.txt Desired Output file should give simple addition. output.txt Can some one provide me simple awk solution to this. M struggling to solve this using awk & for loop inside awk. Thanks... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: onlyroshni
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

addition

Hi all, I am new to perl. I need help adding bunch of numbers. I have a file look like this: 1 1 2 1 2 3 1 2 3 4 1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: email-lalit
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with addition

Hi all, I am getting following output by using commands like sort, uniq and awk to the standard output. 110 d 40 a 59 c 9 b 3 e Now at the end I would like to add all the numbers in column 1 and display the count of all numbers i.e. (110 + 40 + 59 + 9 + 3). Also the output may... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tenderfoot
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition

Hi all, I am very new to shell programming and trying to learn out the basics. I tried this: $ echo `expr 20 + 30` and it worked. But when i tried this,it does not work. $ a=20 $ b=30 $ echo `expr a + b` The error is: expr: non-numeric argument I cant understand why its... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gautamshaw
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition Of New Fields