Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Rpm packaging on Suse Linux
Operating Systems Linux SuSE Rpm packaging on Suse Linux Post 302496438 by dirshah on Monday 14th of February 2011 05:11:48 AM
Old 02-14-2011
Rpm packaging on Suse Linux

Hi All,
I am new to linux. Still I am asked to package a war file as an RPM package. That is an unusual RPM packaging(To me). If you guys could guide me, on how to do that, will be great. I have a war file inside a folder, that folder is inside a tar file as a SOURCE for RPM package. The structure is like below.

--RPMS
--SOURCES
--tasmportlets-1.tar.gz(its a tar file)
--tasmportlets-1(its a folder)
--tasmportlets.war
--BUILD
--SPECS
--mySpecs.spec
--SRPMS

I simply want that the war file from sources is transferred to the web app of my tomcat server through RPM. I try to package it as an RPM, but its always giving me errors in %build stage. When I try to remove %build from stage from the spec file, then it says command missing.

Can anyone please help me here Or point me in the right direction? An example will be great.

My system details are:
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 (x86_64)
VERSION = 10
PATCHLEVEL = 1
LSB_VERSION="core-2.0-noarch:core-3.0-noarch:core-2.0-x86_64:core-3.0-x86_64"

Thanks in advance.

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Red Hat

RPM Packaging doubt!

Hi, I need to create an RPM package for my java application. Already build package for that application avail;able. I need to create binary RPM package for my java application. For that in spec file, do I need to write any script kind of thing to install my package. any one have idea... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ram.sj
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

build rpm with SPEC file for packaging .jar and some .sh files..