Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Output from who command - quick riddle Post 302494179 by Corona688 on Sunday 6th of February 2011 12:20:29 AM
Old 02-06-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by losingit
Hmmm thanks for the try but that made it worse.
[edit] I just realized your columns weren't made by WHO. I need to alter that echo too.

Code:
echo -e "User\tTTY\tDate\tTime"
who | cut -c1-7,9-15,23-25,28-34 | tr ' ' '\t'

This User Gave Thanks to Corona688 For This Post:

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Quick help with the date command...

I'm new to unix, and I was wondering how would you output the following date using the date command? Thank you in advance. November 4,2005 17:04:31 EST Wednesday (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Newguy4
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Riddle - solve it if you can

I don't understand this, can anyone explain the evaluation logic used here, and I would really appreciate a general explanation for it. ---------------------- Here's the korn script: -------------------- #! /usr/bin/ksh if ] then echo true else echo false fi if (( 2 > 10 )) then... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: numstr
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Quick Question on sed command in shell script

Hello, I have the following line in one of my shell scripts. It works fine when the search string($SERACH_STR) exists in the logfile($ALERTLOG) but if the search string does not exist this line errors out at run time. Is there a way to make this line return 0 if it is not able to find the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: luft
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Command display output on console and simultaneously save the command and its output