Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers require detailed description for df -k command Post 302487939 by shooter on Friday 14th of January 2011 07:34:52 AM
Old 01-14-2011
Question require detailed description for df -k command

Hi,

I have used df -k always just to check the % of disk space left.

Recently i discovered that the sum availabl space and used space is not equal to 1K-blocks.

Can anyone explain me the reason for this difference.

Thanks.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Command to require OS info

Hi, I am new to UNIX environment. Can anybody tell me how can I check whether my OS is 32bit or 64bit? Regards, Malay Mary (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: malaymaru
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

require help about cut command

hi, im trying to cut the file using cut command in unix . the problem is i want to input the chacter list from another file and then using the postioins specified in this file i want to cut another file. for eg. cut -c(here i want to use a list being read from a file) listdata(this is the file i... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vikramchots
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Please tell me the Detailed Booting procedure of Solaris 8

Can anyone explain me the detailed booting procedure on Solaris 2.8 Regards, Max29583 (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: max29583
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

require alternate command for lsof

Using lsof command i can find out which process-id is associated with the port. lsof -i :51000 . But as part of process i cant have lsof in the server. I am using sun solaris 8 and only kshell. Is there a way to find out which process is using the above port. as of now i am gettn port... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: logic0
1 Replies

5. Homework & Coursework Questions

Command Doesn't Show Description