Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Reinstall virtual I/O Server & LCD code 0518 Post 302485836 by brillmon on Thursday 6th of January 2011 09:32:56 AM
Old 01-06-2011
When you say you installed the VIO server software as well as AIX 6.1 do you mean you installed both on the same LPAR?

>> I guess that I must have done that.

If so it is no wonder you wiped out the VIO installation as they are both seperate entities! Had you intended to do an alt-disk-install? Not that I am sure that is possible with this configuration!

>> I meant to install aix on top or inside of the vios as an lpar. I am new to VIOS.

As far as your error is concerned here a definition of the LED error code:

518 Remote mount of the root and /usr file systems failed during network boot.

Have you checked the configuration of the LPAR in SMS? It appears you have no ROOTVG!

>> How can/should I check the configuration of the LPAR in SMS?
I guess what I really want to do is get to a console in AIX and wipe out anything to do with AIX so I can start from scratch and reinstall the VIOS once again. That is all I am trying to do at this point to move forward.

Any suggestions on this?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

BootingTrouble:0518 /var MNT failed

Hi I am having and issue with my AIX box when i boot it up i get the following error 0518 /var MNT failed Is their anything i can do...? Thanks Liam (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: lodonovan
1 Replies

2. IP Networking

sharing of IP address for load sharing avoiding virtual server & redirection machine

I have RedHat 9.0 installed on three of my servers (PIII - 233MHz) and want that they share a common IP address so that any request made reaches each of the servers. Can anyone suggest how should I setup my LAN. I'm new to networking in Linux so please elaborate and would be thankful for a timely... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rakesh Ranjan
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers