Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Change values in Log4j.xml using ksh script Post 302485706 by sanjeevcseng on Thursday 6th of January 2011 02:51:06 AM
Old 01-06-2011
Change values in Log4j.xml using ksh script

Hi,

I am new to UNIX and shell scripting.
I have to create a shell script(ksh) which parses log4j.xml file for a given webservice name and change the corresponding value from INFO to DEBUG or vice-versa.

My log4j.xml looks like:-

Code:
<!-- Appender WEBSERVICENAME-->
<appender name="WEBSERVICENAME" class="org.apache.log4j.DailyRollingFileAppender">
<param name="File" value="PATH_OF_LOG_FILE" />
<param name="threshold" value="DEBUG" />
<param name="DatePattern" value="'.'yyyy-MM-dd" />
<param name="Append" value="true" />
<layout class="org.apache.log4j.PatternLayout">
<param name="ConversionPattern" value="%d|%-5p|[%t]|%X{serviceId}|%X{requestId}|%c{1}:%L|%m%n" />
</layout>
<filter class="CLASSNAME">
<param name="values" value="WEBSERVICENAME"/>
<param name="MDC" value="serviceId"/>
</filter>
</appender>

IN above example i have to change:-

Code:

to
Code:
<param name="threshold" value="INFO" />

Note:- there are many weservices in the xml file for whom
Code:

is present in there appender. So i only want to change the value for input WEBSERVICE NAME only.

I searched some AWK examples but could not come up with one to suit my purpose.

Kindly help.

Last edited by pludi; 01-13-2011 at 06:16 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing and getting data from XML file using ksh script

Hi All, I have a xml file for example as described below <xml> <address> <street><street> <address/> <isbn>426728783932020308393930303</isbn> <book> <name> </name> </book> . . . </xml> My problem is to get the isbn number from the above described file using ksh script. Could... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vinna
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting