Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting trying to accumulate a number in the same variable Post 302483113 by rdcwayx on Thursday 23rd of December 2010 09:27:28 PM
Old 12-23-2010
Code:
awk '
{       
num_cols=NF;  # the number of columns in the current line
temp_cols=temp_cols+num_cols  #add up no. of columns over multiple lines
print temp_cols
}' <$infile >tst.txt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Check if variable is a number

If I have a variable $X, how do I check it is a number? Many thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: handak9
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

defining a variable as a number or character?

I am writing a script that needs to accept numbers into a variable by prompting and using the code read num case $num in 000) break ;; *) I am fairly new to unix and am loving the versatility of the language but need a little shove in the right... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: noobian
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do one evaulate a variable's value if it is number or not

How do one evaulate a variable's value if it is number or not. say var1=1234; .... I want to check if $var1 contains a number or not. Is there any built-in command or combination of commands available? Thanks, Suman (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: suman_jakkula
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Export variable as number

Hi Guys, I am using the korn shell. I have an environments files where I have defined a variable export START_TIME=060000 export END_TIME=220000 I source this environments file into one of my scripts. The problem is that when I try to use this variable, I cannot get to use this variable as a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: zeus101
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

appending variable number of files