Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting case construction for basic Arithmetics calculation Post 302475211 by flash80 on Saturday 27th of November 2010 05:43:41 AM
Old 11-27-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrutinizer
Try:
Code:
echo "`expr $1 \* $3`" ;;

file modified
Code:
case $2 in "+" )
   echo "`expr $1 + $3`" ;;
"-" )
   echo "`expr $1 - $3`" ;;
"*" )
   echo "`expr $1 \* $3`" ;;
"/" )
   echo "`expr $1 / $3`" ;;
esac

test
Code:
alioune@baccus ~/bashtuto/bashExercise $ ./q4.sh 2 + 2
alioune@baccus ~/bashtuto/bashExercise $ ./q4.sh 2 - 2
alioune@baccus ~/bashtuto/bashExercise $ ./q4.sh 2 / 2
alioune@baccus ~/bashtuto/bashExercise $ ./q4.sh 2 * 2
alioune@baccus ~/bashtuto/bashExercise $ 
alioune@baccus ~/bashtuto/bashExercise $

Still no output for "*".

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Cybersecurity

Password Construction

Could someone please help, I am new to unix and I am trying to do the following: o Each password must have at least eight characters. Only the first eight characters are significant. PASSLENGTH is found in /etc/default/passwd and is set to 6. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tumbikikani
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Matrix construction

Hi experts How to construct a rectangular matrix for a text file with 6012 rows and 2221 columns. Thank You (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: riyabio
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Matrix construction

Hi I have to construct a rectangular matrix with 6012 rows and 2221 columns. Here the rows and columns were given by alphanumeric ids in a file named row.txt and column.txt respectively. with this row nd column ids I have to construct a matrix ie 6012*2221 and compare the column ids with... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: riyabio
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with regex construction