Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Data and return code extraction Post 302474940 by gc_sw on Friday 26th of November 2010 04:15:06 AM
Old 11-26-2010
if you use solaris you should nawk instead of awk. check your Man pages.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Data Extraction issue.

I have a small problem, I have written a following script, which extracts all the rows from source file which strats with T101 and rights it to another file mydata.dat Script my_script #!/bin/ksh YMONTH=$1 dir1='/home/data' dir2='/clients/source_file' cd $dir1 grep "T101"... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: irehman
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

help with data extraction script

Hello all, Iam newbie here and to unix programming. I have the following text file. A:Woshington,B:London,C:Paris,D:Manchester,C:Lisbon,E:Cape town. Now I would like extract this and store in database. here is the script I have tried but it did work. CITY1:`echo "$text" | grep "A:"... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: mam
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

to pick up the Return Code ( RC) from the mailx command and return it to SAS uisng 's

Hi All, Can anyone please let me know the syntax / how to pick up the Return Code ( RC) from the mailx command and return it to SAS uisng 'system()' function and '${?}'. I am in a process to send the mail automatically with an attachment to bulk users. I have used 'Mailx' and 'Unencode'... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: manas6
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Data Extraction From a File

Hi All, I have a requirement where I have to search the file with some text say "Exception". This exception word can be repeated for more then 10 times. Suppose the "Exception" word is repeated at line numbers say x=10, 50, 60, 120. Now I want to extract all the lines starting from x-5 to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rrangaraju
3 Replies