Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to replace ^M present at the end of each line in a file. Post 302470548 by firestar on Wednesday 10th of November 2010 10:44:49 AM
Old 11-10-2010
How to replace ^M present at the end of each line in a file.

Hi all,

My unix admin copied my code from old server to new server. I don't know exactly how he copied by at the end of each line i see ^M appeneded. The code has more than 200 lines could you please help me how to remove it easilt instead of deleting it manually......

Thanks,
Firestar.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed : replace space and end-of-line

Hi ! I'm rather new with sed ... learned a lot already by googling etc ... The following script should replace all spaces and ends-of-lines with "something (see below). #!/bin/bash i=0 while read line do fam="H`printf "%06d" $i`" echo $line | sed -e 's//\t'$fam'\n/g' i=$(($i+1))... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jossojjos
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace end of line with a space

for eg: i have i/p file as: ================ i wnt to change end of line ================= my require ouput is like: i wnt to change end of line ==================== (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: RahulJoshi
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple sed question - replace from phrase to end of line

I have the following line an in input file I want to digest with sed and simple replace the bold part with a variable defined in my bash script. I can do this in several sed operations but I know there must be a way to do it in a single sed line. What is the syntax? Line in file:... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: graysky
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding tab/new line at the end of each line of a file