Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Delete all the files and subdirectories for the year 2006 Post 302468888 by ctsgnb on Thursday 4th of November 2010 05:15:18 AM
Old 11-04-2010
Code:
find directory -type f -ls | awk '($10=="2006"){print $11}' | xargs -n10 rm

This User Gave Thanks to ctsgnb For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

delete compressed files from year 2005

I'm trying to delete files that were created/modified in the year 2005 that we compressed and have the .Z extension on them. I tried using the awk utility but the syntax is incorrect. I don't know how to use a wildcard to capture all the compressed files. Here's the code I used ( ls -lR |... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: igidttam
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to find and copy the files creted in the year 2006 to another directory

Hi All, I am new to UNIX. I will be thankful if some one helps me. I have to write a shell script for one of the requirement. I have files created from Jan 2006 to March 2008. My requirement is to write a script in such a way that 1) To find and copy(not Moving) the files created in the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: manas6
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Delete files by year

can someone provide a command to delete files by year? I have several files created last year 2009. Im trying to list first ls -lrt | grep '/2009/ {print $10}' by it returns no result. Pls advise (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lhareigh890
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to delete subdirectories that are more than 1 day old AND have NO files on them

Hi Experts , At a particular dir , How to delete subirectories that are more than 1 day old AND have NO files in them. PS : -empty option is not working at my Sun OS version. Thanks, A (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajaypatil_am
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting