Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash script to test IP range on server Post 302466008 by boxgoboom on Monday 25th of October 2010 06:41:39 AM
Old 10-25-2010
Thanks for the replies, tcping looks really interesting but as I said, I'm just getting started w/ writing shell scripts and wouldn't know where to start. (I have an e-book but not much time, unfortunately). I do have a background in programming using a couple of languages that are dead now so I'm hoping some of the base concepts will still translate.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script to Test Application Server is running

Hi, I'm a complete novice at Unix and need to create a script that does the following... checks to see if an application server is running. If the app is running then print 'Available' Else print 'Unavaliable' exit from scriopt I have no idea where to start. I'd be very grateful... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: duglover
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

execute a script on test server from dev server

I need to execute a script from dev server which is located on Test server.I can use ftp to connect to dev server and from there how can i execute a command on test server. Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ukatru
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash Script w/ IP Range

Is there a basic IP range script or a site that has basic script written? I am making a script that is looking for a device on my network threw HTTP://. I and using a for loop with wget to download the page and using grep to search the code for the serial number. My range is 172.16.x.x/16 I... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: captaindoogles
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash script to test network connection - please help