Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Unix Shell background processing Post 302456941 by Mercfh on Monday 27th of September 2010 02:21:34 AM
Old 09-27-2010
Oh....well crap.
Oh well I mean the parsing function works....
I checked with some extra debugging to make sure it's parsing and it is, however Im just not so sure how to do a background process, but after re-looking at my code...i can def. find the & just by cycling through the parse function again and checking for an &......

However Im still clueless as to what to do for background processing.

I tried to checkfor &...but keep getting a seg fault, i tried a for loop but it wouldnt work either. any ideas?

Last edited by Mercfh; 09-28-2010 at 06:54 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

background for unix

Hi, I am a newbie learing Unix , I have started with teh book "the Design of the Unix OS" by Bach.After which I plan to read "UNIX Network Programming" by Richard Stevens. What is the background that one needs to learn unix. I know C. But I am not sure about my Operating Systems... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ramyar
4 Replies

2. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Unix Background

Hi, I'm new to this forums and to Unix OS... Is this the right place to put this thread? I just need to ask how to set the wallpaper that goes through the x-term windows in a Unix system? It's as if the x-term windows is transparent... I tried modifying the .login file and things got... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gri3v3r7
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Background shell script

I have a friend at work that asked me a question today and I figured I would seek help here. How does a shell script know whether it is running in the background or not? Thanks in advance for help (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Moofasa
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

run a shell in the background