Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Command to execute commands one after other Post 302455333 by jim mcnamara on Tuesday 21st of September 2010 09:51:47 AM
Old 09-21-2010
Code:
nohup ./runinstaller -silent 2&>1 > nohup.out &
wait

runinstaller is now background process, waited for by your command line process

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

lom don't execute commands

I'm new in Sun, i just recieved a sun v100 server, i already connected the server to a workstation (using the hyperterminal tool) and it seemmed to be fine... however when the LOM> prompt appears and i try to introduce various commands but it does nothing. LOMlite starting up. CPU type:... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pasalagua
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can BASH execute commands on a remote server when the commands are embedded in shell

I want to log into a remote server transfer over a new config and then backup the existing config, replace with the new config. I am not sure if I can do this with BASH scripting. I have set up password less login by adding my public key to authorized_keys file, it works. I am a little... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bash_in_my_head
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Execute multiple commands in a find

I am checking that a file is older than a reference file that I build with a touch command before processing it. If it is not old enough, I want to sleep for an hour and check again. My problem is if it is old enough to process, I want to exit when I am done, but I cannot find a way to exit... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: prismtx
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

execute shell commands with in sftp

Hi All, Please let me know how do I execute some of the shell commands like cat, find ,grep within sftp. Any help in this regard would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: tommy1
5 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers