Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Addition
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Addition Post 302455096 by gautamshaw on Monday 20th of September 2010 08:28:14 PM
Old 09-20-2010
Addition

Hi all,
I am very new to shell programming and trying to learn out the basics.
I tried this:

$ echo `expr 20 + 30`

and it worked. But when i tried this,it does not work.

$ a=20
$ b=30
$ echo `expr a + b`

The error is:

expr: non-numeric argument

I cant understand why its throwing me this error Smilie

Pleas explain and solve my problem

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

addition

Hi all, I am new to perl. I need help adding bunch of numbers. I have a file look like this: 1 1 2 1 2 3 1 2 3 4 1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: email-lalit
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

addition in sh shell

I have to create un counter and I am unable to do an additition: #!/bin/sh count=$1 while ] do echo $count $count=$count+$1 done (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cfg
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with addition

Hi all, I am getting following output by using commands like sort, uniq and awk to the standard output. 110 d 40 a 59 c 9 b 3 e Now at the end I would like to add all the numbers in column 1 and display the count of all numbers i.e. (110 + 40 + 59 + 9 + 3). Also the output may... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tenderfoot
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition Of New Fields

Hi, I want to add 3 new fields in the existing file.Please find the example below. input: UID: ABCD UNAME: XYZ Desired Output Tmiestamp: 20101208 UID: ABCD UNAME: XYZ DEPTNO:40 ModifyTImestamp:20101209 If you see the above i have added the 3 columns manually in the output section... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nani7574
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Substitution/Addition