Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Tar files larger than 2GB
Operating Systems AIX Tar files larger than 2GB Post 302453347 by pilotHans on Wednesday 15th of September 2010 03:09:02 AM
Old 09-15-2010
Hi, im no expert in this, but Have u tried to check ur zip version
Code:
gunzip -V

sometimes downloading newer versions might help. just a suggestion

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Use of unzip with content files > 2Gb

I am zipping and downloading zip files from an AS400 using the unzip utility. The files are being downloaded onto a Solaris box. Some of the content files in the zip are larger than 2GB. When using the unzip utility (version 5.32), it complains of 'disk full'. The disk is not full, I still have... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tcarlson
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

sending larger files via ftp

hi all, i am looking for ways to make ftp efficient by tuning the parameters currently, tcp_max_buf is 1 MB tcp_xmit_hiwat is 48 KB say to transmit multiple 2 gb files from unix server to mainframe sys, will increasing the window size or the send buffer size of the current TCP/IP... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: matrixmadhan
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

cpio - files > 2gb

Hi, Currently a backup script copies compressed files to tape using cpio command (on AIX 5.2). Recently we've had a compressed file which has gone over 2 GB in size resulting in an error while copying this file onto the tape using cpio. Any suggestions on relevant workarounds would be much... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dnicky
2 Replies

4. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

tar 2GB limit

Any idea how to get around this limit? I have a 42GB database backup file (.dmp) taking up disk space because neither tar nor cpio are able to put it onto a tape. I am on a SUN Solaris using SunOS 5.8. I would appreciate whatever help can be provided. Thanks! (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: SLKRR
9 Replies