Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help to separate name and email domain Post 302451382 by methyl on Monday 6th of September 2010 05:21:25 PM
Old 09-06-2010
Another way, assuming this is a long list in random order and you want the output in sorted order of domain name.

Code:
awk -F\@ '{print $2}' filename | sort | uniq -c

2 email.com
   1 myemail.com
   1 youremail.com.

The trailing full-stop on the last address may be a typo in the original data.

Last edited by methyl; 09-06-2010 at 06:25 PM.. Reason: show results

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Send email with attachement-Getting connection refused by domain

Hi all, I am a newbie to unix. I need to send an email with an attachment in unix to some id like abc@some_company.com Code i have used is ------------Code--------------------------- #!/bin/ksh set -x #set -n #cript: unix_mail_withattachments.ksh # Aurthor: Ravin Maharaj #... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: samuelc
1 Replies

2. Solaris

can't email my own domain

I am not able to send email only to my own domain with sendmail. I am having trouble determining if the problem is name resolution on the box in question, or if the email is getting stopped at the mail relay/spam appliance. I would appreciate any insights into this problem. Could it be the... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: lscritch
0 Replies

3. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

How to: Linux BOX in Windows Domain (w/out joining the domain)

Dear Expert, i have linux box that is running in the windows domain, BUT did not being a member of the domain. as I am not the System Administrator so I have no control on the server in the network, such as modify dns entry , add the linux box in AD and domain record and so on that relevant. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: regmaster
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Sending email to different domain