Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: curl ftp script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting curl ftp script Post 302449232 by Qroid on Sunday 29th of August 2010 03:21:54 PM
Old 08-29-2010
curl ftp script

Hello - I'm a novice, so apologies if this is a stupid/answered question.

I'm operating on a mac, and I'm using ftp to transfer files to my computer. The files have atypical names, although I have a list of them, addresses included. Is there a way to automate this using curl?

That is to write a script with curl that does 1. ftp to a password-protected account, 2. read in list of files, 3. get the files. I've spent a few hours reading the curl man page and experimenting, but I'm just as lost as a few hours ago. I'm copying over hundreds of files...

Thanks in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cURL Active FTP Download

Hello, I know this is probably a very silly question for most but how to do I force curl to do active FTP downloads? Thank you Dallas (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dallasbr
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

help with curl using ssl to ftp file

Currently I am trying to download a file from a secure site that I do not control. I need to use a pem cert to get past their firewall. Currently I am trying to use curl to get the file and return it using the following information pemcert.txt containing the cert, username, password, domain,... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: gandolf989
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

using curl in a script

Hello everyone I'm currently using a script to upload files (different file names, but same date) to an ftp server (see below) #!/bin/sh # Set the variables HOST=<host> USER=<user> PASSWD=<password> ftp -i -n $HOST <<END_SCRIPT user ${USER} ${PASSWD} mput... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: soliberus
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

FTP using cURL