Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Forgot Passwd
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Forgot Passwd Post 302448889 by verdepollo on Friday 27th of August 2010 09:57:02 AM
Old 08-27-2010
Unless your BIOS is password protected you can use the following steps:

Booting into Single-User Mode

The doc. is for RHEL 4 but it's the same for RHEL 5.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

forgot metaroot command

:o hi, i am new to Unix. I was try to do a mirror on solaris 8 with Solstice DiskSuite. Unfortunately I have missed the metaroot command and reboot system. The system unable to boot up. May i know what should I do to bring the system up? Pls help. thks and regards, ann (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: cypg
12 Replies

2. Linux

forgot password red hat ?

Dear Forum savants, I have a problem that I am not sure how to overcome. Two years ago I had a friend build me computer with a linux os (red hat) for learning purposes. It happens to have an oracle server on it as well... Anyway , because of personal reasons, I lost complete interest in... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jxh461
5 Replies

3. HP-UX

forgot password

i forgot my password on a HP-UX 9.xx machine. is there a possible way of changing it without knowing the root passwd? I would do it with a boot disk and chroot but I dont have a boot disk available.... any ideas? thanks!! Paul Tittel (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: paultittel
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I forgot my UNIX password!!

Hello, Is there a way to reset the "root" unix password, pretty much like you would do in linux by going into single user mode? :confused: :confused: Thank you in advance. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mr Big
5 Replies

5. Red Hat

forgot root passwd