Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Export SQL results to .TXT file for emailing Post 302447830 by alpinescott on Tuesday 24th of August 2010 12:28:49 PM
Old 08-24-2010
Export SQL results to .TXT file for emailing

Hi everyone,
I am new to unix and bash and in need of some help.
I am writing a script that will execute a SQL query. The script runs and the SQl query runs, but I cannot figure out how to save the results as a file that can be emailed to a user. Here is my scripts thus far:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
SID=$1
DIR=/u01/test/testcomn/admin/scripts/requestedqueries/
ORACLE_SID=$SID; export ORACLE_SID
ORACLE_HOME directories to be searched by the .sql statement
LD_LIBRARY_PATH
PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/bin:$PATH; export PATH
cd $DIR

sqlplus user/PWD @export_icat.sql
echo 'Today's Results'  | mail -s "Results" user@domain.com

Thanks!

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use code tags, thank you!

Last edited by Franklin52; 08-24-2010 at 01:34 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting sql select query result to txt file

Hi , I just found you while surfing for the string 'Redirecting sql select query output from within a shell script to txt file/excel file' Could you find time sending me the code for the above question? It'll be great help for me. I have a perl file that calls the sql file... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dolphin123
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting sql select query result to txt file

Hi Yogesh, Lucky that i caught you online. Yeah i read about DBI and the WriteExcel module. But the server is not supporting these modules. It said..."Cannot locate DBI"..."Cannot locate Spreadsheet::WriteExcel" I tried creating a simple text file to get the query output, but the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dolphin123
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to export a unix file to txt file?