Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Redirecting command output as well as commands Post 302441131 by al0x on Thursday 29th of July 2010 10:35:31 AM
Old 07-29-2010
mmh wouldn't it work if you just redirect the awk output with > into a variable and then echo and print/write it out?
like:
Code:
awk ... > supercoolvariable
echo $supercoolvariable
echo $supercoolvariable > exec.log

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting OUTPUT

Hi, I want to move the output of a command/script to a file as well as to to be displayed on stdout. Can anybody help me in this. Thanks in advace .. -Chanakya M (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Chanakya.m
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

problem redirecting output of command to variable

Hi. I'm a newbie in scripting and i have this problem: i want to use the 'fuser' command on a file to tell if it's being accessed (for my purposes: still being written). I want to save the output of the command and later compare with the 'not being used' result. the script: #!/bin/bash... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nunovc
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

redirecting commands to new xterm

hi, I need help in redirecting the commands to a new xterm. I have a executable, say my_script and another file called command.list that has several commands. my_script contents pwd xterm -e command.list I am expecting, all the commands in command.list needs to be executed in the new... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sujith
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting output of a command to a file

Hi We are having a requirement where one shell script, say a.sh (which uses Java and connects to Oracle database using JDBC) keeps on running everytime. I created a wrapper (to check whether a.sh is running and if not then to start it) and scheduled it in the crontab. Now all the output from... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ankitgoel