Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: set sub-string as variable
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers set sub-string as variable Post 302437049 by tedy2808 on Tuesday 13th of July 2010 10:36:58 PM
Old 07-13-2010
set sub-string as variable

Hi all,

i really new in linux and just heard about shell scripting couple days ago..

i did exercises on linux in online tutorial but as a beginner, i'm facing problems in developing the script as there are errors that sometimes i dun have any idea on how to solve it.What i'm doing now is not homework, but i had been assigned to develop some system in linux.

i appreciate if there are people that willing to guide me on this matter.

my problem currently is on sub-string matter, where i need to read the line from file/directory and based on the line retrieved,i need to seperate the information in the line and assign as variable..

below are my script:

(the script reside in test.sh)

Code:
!/bin/sh
dir=/home/user/input/test.log   #(this is the input file)

msg=`tail -1 $dir`   
#(it will take only the last line as log file will be updated every day)

echo "$msg"

thus, the output something like this:

file_name successfully ran on Mon Jul 12 23:15:00 SST 2009.

now, what i need to do is to extract certain information from that line which is the name, date, time and the status

the desired output is:

name date time status
file_name Mon Jul 12 23:15:00 success

so,my next step is to identify the sub-string and assigned as variable first in order to parse the info and output it.

thus,my script is:

Code:
!/bin/sh
dir=/home/user/input/test.log   #(this is the input file)

msg=`tail -1 $dir`   
#(it will take only the last line as log file will be updated every day)

sub= $msg
name=${msg:0:8}

echo "$msg"
echo "name"

but i received error message which is

Code:
./test.sh[10]: name=${msg:0:8}: The specified substitution is not valid for this command.

guide me please..