Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: additions
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users additions Post 302431533 by Tytalus on Tuesday 22nd of June 2010 05:34:40 AM
Old 06-22-2010
Not sure if this is exactly what you want, as in your question the nuber of trailing zeroes changes from i/p to o/p, but, something like:

Code:
> cat infile

> awk '{printf("%f\n",$1+NR)}' infile

or

> awk '{printf("%.3f\n",$1+NR)}' infile

Should get you heading in the right direction and give you something to play about with and get to your liking..

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators

proposed additions to the 'books' subforum in the 'Dummies' forum

Dear admins, Over in the "UNIX for Dummies" forum there is a subforum: "I'm new to Unix. Which books should I read?" The 2 Bash guides and the Linux guide on this page: The Linux Documentation Project: Guides Have been really useful to me. Also (though the same info can be found by... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mbubb
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to find whether the difference between two files in only additions but not modifications

i basically have 2 files and sdiff of the files is given below sdiff file1 file 2 control_file < path INDEX < size 613 < mode 0444 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: under_cons
1 Replies

3. Virtualization and Cloud Computing

Error in virtualbox while instaling guest additions

Failed to open the CD/DVD image /usr/lib/virtualbox/additions/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso. Could not get the storage format of the medium '/usr/lib/virtualbox/additions/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso' (VERR_NOT_SUPPORTED). Result Code: VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80BB0005) Component: Medium Interface: IMedium... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: upvan111
9 Replies

4. UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers

Oracle VirtualBox Guest Additions installation help