Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Program to insert Delimiters at fixed locations in a file, Can you please Debug it for me?? Post 302430118 by jd_mca on Wednesday 16th of June 2010 03:49:40 PM
Old 06-16-2010
Yes It was intended.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I insert commas/delimiters in File

Hi, Newbie here. Need to convert a txt file to .csv format. There's no character to replace so not sure if I can use sed :confused: . The comma is to be inserted after every certain number of characters in each line... Help! Thanks. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mbelen
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert lines between delimiters

I'm working with a file like: somestuff somemorestuff ... someadditionalstuff STARTTAG ENDTAG someotherstuff somecoolstuff ... somefinalstuffI've got some text (either in a file or piped) to put between STARTTAG and ENDTAG. I was thinking something like grepping for the line number of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: BMDan
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

string deletion, variable contents, fixed delimiters

Hi, I need to mass delete the following string(s) from my files weight=100, However the '100' is variable e.g Current: ---------------- moretext=bar, weight=100, moreinfo=blah extrastuff=hi, weight=9999, extrainfo=foo Desired: ------------------ moretext=bar, moreinfo=blah... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rebelbuttmunch
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Fetch the rows with match string on a fixed lenth text file - NO delimiters

Hi I am trying to fetch the rows with match string "0000001234" Input file looks like below: 09 0 XXX 0000001234 Z 1 09 0 XXX 0000001234 Z 1 09 0 XXX 0000001234 Z 1 09 0 XXX 0000001234 Z 1 09 0 XXX 0000001234 Z 1... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: nareshk
6 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Insert Delimiter at fixed locations in a flat file