Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting SED Delete all between 2 tags ... Post 302427974 by alexander_ on Tuesday 8th of June 2010 12:43:30 PM
Old 06-08-2010
SED Delete all between 2 tags ...

Hi @all,

i need an SED-command which deletes all signs in an xml-file between the </text> and the following <text> - tags.

Code:
sed '/</text>/,/<text>/d'

doesn`t work!

regards
alex

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Use sed to delete a character

I built a 12 million record file and made a mistake, one field is 1 character too long. The record is 40 bytes and ends always in 999. I am trying to delete the 37 character in each record. Is this possible without doing a cut and paste. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bthomas
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Delete ^ using sed

Hi All, I am very new to UNIX... I was trying to delete ^ from a file and save it with different name... The version is AIX 5.3 The input file is in this directory /a/b The Input file name is o9876.out I want the output file in same path with different name like ABC.txt... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: us_pokiri
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete using sed

hi , i need to delete all the lines in a file except a line which starts with the letter SP (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: mhdmehraj
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed-delete

Guys, file1: test \ 123 cat file1 | sed '/test \/d' ---- does not work I have to remove the line "test \" in file1 can somebody help ? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: giri_luck
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

USING sed to delete a line

Please let me know wat would be sed command to delete any partcular line from a file and also moving lines below it to up. ie wen line #9 is deleted data in line #10 should move to #9 and so on. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fidelis
2 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting