Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting The builtin split function in AWK is too slow Post 302423102 by danmero on Thursday 20th of May 2010 07:21:59 AM
Old 05-20-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevintse
I have a text file that contains 4 million lines, each line contains 2 fields(colon as field separator).
Here I have to split the second field(can be up to 40,000 fields) by comma into an array for analysis,
Code:
print $2 | cmd; close(cmd)} ' data.txt

How to solve this problem? or you have other alternatives to replacing the split function?
Calling the external command will be to slow (4,000,000 x 40,000 = 160,000,000,000 calls).
Please answer Franklin52 previous question.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

split function

Hi all! I am relatively new to UNIX staff, and I have come across a problem: I have a big directory, which contains 100 smaller ones. Each of the 100 contains a file ending in .txt , so there are 100 files ending in .txt I want to split each of the 100 files in smaller ones, which will contain... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ktsirig
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl split function

$mystring = "name:blk:house::"; print "$mystring\n"; @s_format = split(/:/, $mystring); for ($i=0; $i <= $#s_format; $i++) { print "index is $i,field is $s_format"; print "\n"; } $size = $#s_format + 1; print "total size of array is $size\n"; i am expecting my size to be 5, why is it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2ss
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Split a file with no pattern -- Split, Csplit, Awk

I have gone through all the threads in the forum and tested out different things. I am trying to split a 3GB file into multiple files. Some files are even larger than this. For example: split -l 3000000 filename.txt This is very slow and it splits the file with 3 million records in each... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: madhunk
10 Replies