Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Newbie bash scripting help requested Post 302419921 by Scott on Monday 10th of May 2010 05:31:38 AM
Old 05-10-2010
Hi.

You never do call the function. Your if statement is testing a literal string "testfunc", which would always be "true" (as a non empty string)

Correct would be:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

testfunc() {
    echo "Inside function testfunc()"
    return 0
}

if testfunc; then
    echo "testfunc() returned true"
else
    echo "testfunc() returned false"
fi

Or:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

testfunc() {
    echo "Inside function testfunc()"
    return 0
}

testfunc
if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
    echo "testfunc() returned true"
else
    echo "testfunc() returned false"
fi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie - Need help in bash scripting

Hi there, I am a student and currently working on a project. I have a file that contains about 50 filenames. (1.txt, 2.txt, 3.txt ...). I would like to know how can I store these filenames into a variable using a loop? I would appreciate if anyone can help me. Thank You. Regards, Bib (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: coolbib
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell Scripting Newbie

I'm relatively new at this scripting game, just need to learn some basic stuff for data handling. My current need is to write a script that loops through a textfile of filenames, and for each file removes the first line and re-writes that file to a new name. In fact I could do with knowing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mattyjim2
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Scripting Newbie

Seems simple but I am having difficulty with this one: I am trying to write a single command line argument (which will be a path) - the program should print out the owner of the path. I can not get anything I write to run. Please help. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kymmers7
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting