Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Constructing a string by reading the contents of 2 files Post 302417986 by cakerack on Sunday 2nd of May 2010 06:25:08 AM
Old 05-02-2010
Thanks guys - this is exactly what I wanted - obviously I have some way to go! Anyway thanks a million...

Cheers

Sean

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

reading contents on a 4mm tape

I am experimenting with one of my TSM processes, and I am trying to write something to a 4mm tape. I tried to use the tctl command, but, I was unsuccessful. what AiX command can I run in order to see if my output is on the tape ? Thank You ! (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: DATDANGGADUDE
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading specific contents from 1 input files and appending it to another input file

Hi guys, I am new to AWK and unix scripting. Please see below my problem and let me know if anyone you can help. I have 2 input files (example given below) Input file 2 is a standard file (it will not change) and we have to get the name (second column after comma) from it and append it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sksahu
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading and printing one by one contents of a file

I have a file which has following contents: localhost_IP_SIP_1233026552455.xml localhost_IP_SIP_1233026552460.xml localhost_IP_SIP_1233026552467.xml localhost_IP_SIP_1233026552759.xml localhost_IP_SIP_1233026552969.xml localhost_IP_SIP_1233026552975.xml ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Aditya.Gurgaon
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Create Multiple files by reading a input file and changing the contents

Being new to this area .I have been assigned a task which i am unable to do . Can any one please help me . Hi I have requirement where i have input file XYZ_111_999_YYYYMMDD_1.TXT and with header and series of Numbers and Footer. I want to create a mutiple output files with each file having a... (2 Replies)