Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to assign record count output of isql to a shell variable ? Post 302416699 by vidyadhar85 on Tuesday 27th of April 2010 01:12:47 PM
Old 04-27-2010
Code:
variable=`isql << eof
select count(*) from Table
eof`

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to assign an output to a variable

Hi, I am giving a grep command, and i am getting the output. i want to store it in a variable for eg a = grep '12345' /dir/1/2/log.txt ( the output is number) b= grep 'basic' /dir/1/2/log1.txt (in this case the output is character) so how to assign the output of grep to a variable ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vasikaran
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to assign sql output data to shell script variable

Hi Guys ! I am new to unix and want to find out how we can make sql statement data to shell script variable? Any help/suggestion is greatly appreciated -Chandra (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kattics
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Setting value of Shell variable from within ISQL

Hi Guys, Need help. I am using ISQL inside a shell script. Is there a way to set the value of shell script variable from inside the ISQL code. I do not want to write the results from the SQL to an output file. Please let me know. Regards, Tipsy. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tipsy
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with Isql record count

What I am trying to do is check if the database query returned any records. If no records returned then output a message else output results to a file. Right now if I take out the if and else statements the code runs fine and sends the email. If no records returned the email sends the column... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnu122
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Setting variable for query using iSql / Korn Shell