Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming How to write a shell script to connect to another server? Post 302416137 by Angelo on Sunday 25th of April 2010 05:13:27 AM
Old 04-25-2010
I thank both Corona and Verde for the replies.

Corona, I need some more information.

1.First I have to install SSH
2.Afterwards I have to install SCP

I hope the above is correct. Please tell me if I am wrong.

Even my friends have to do the same thing. Otherwise they can't copy files and folders from my system. Please tell me if I am wrong.
I don't know very much about these things. I am here to learn.
…................................................................................................... ............................
Verde wants me to repost the script. I will do so when time permits.
Time is the biggest enemy for me. I work and study. I am studying a course on server virtualization. On top of this I go to the gym 5 times a week for circuit-training. I come home everyday around 10 o'clock. No time at all!

It seems Verde has some experience of Windows environment too. I remember cygwin. I had it some years ago. It mimics the Linux command line.

So both cygwin and pscp are necessary for Windows clients.
I run Linux. If my friends have Microsoft, they must install both cygwin and pscp.
Please tell me if I am wrong.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script for how to connect to a remote server by using ssh

i want to connect to a remote server through ssh. i have to also provide password within that script. after connecting to the remote server i want to do some operations like grep,cd etc can u pls help me to wite a script. Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: millan
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to write a shell script for rsync to remote server?