Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? How to become good UNIX engineer Post 302415900 by Corona688 on Friday 23rd of April 2010 04:30:00 PM
Old 04-23-2010
Use, actually seriously use a UNIX machine for day to day things, don't just administer a remote box. You'll find where the holes in your knowledge are real fast when you need to do general things that weren't in the admin book. A big blank spot for a lot of folks seems to be awk, me included. I'm continually amazed at the one-line-wonders the regulars pump out while I'm still crafting a ten line bash script.

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Good Unix Shells ?

Hey Guys i am new to Unix and i have downlaoded Cygwin for Windows and deleted it. I was just wondering is there any good shells like that for windows that just as good thanks for your time ][ce (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: IceCold
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What is the industry standard for number of servers per Unix/Linux engineer?

What is the industry standard for number of servers per Unix/Linux engineer and are there any white papers or the like that discuss this? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Rav78uk
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Information on Network engineer and Unix Systems Engineer

Hi, I'm exploring a few different careers( Unix System's Admin, Network Engineer, and Unix System's Engineer). I asked in another thread about System's Admin, so I have some more info on that already. I'm not finding very much info on Network Engineers or Unix System Engineers though. Can you guys... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: hpicracing
0 Replies

4. Advertise with Us

Systems Engineer- Emeryville, CA (UNIX, C)