Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Discovering Network Topology
Special Forums UNIX and Linux Applications Infrastructure Monitoring Discovering Network Topology Post 302412813 by nzeidat on Tuesday 13th of April 2010 02:40:51 PM
Old 04-13-2010
Lightbulb Discovering Network Topology

Hi all,
I am tasked to write a program that learns all possible paths between each pair of nodes in an internetwork. I am not an expert in the area of IP networking/routing. I have been reading about this the last few days. If you know of examples that are close to what I am trying to do, I would aprciate it if you direct me to whre I could look at them. I have a couple of questions
1) Does the type of alorithm used by IP routing (IP Layer) (whether RIP or OSPF for example) have any direct bearing on what I am trying to do? I.e., if I accomplish the task working on a network that uses RIP, would the utility still work on a network that utilizes OSPF?
2) The first step (sub-task) in this project is to create a kernel task (exposed to the userspace as a system call) that takes as input 2 IP addresses IP_A and IP_B, and returns a buffer that contains all possible paths between these 2 nodes. Any hints on what I should look into to start with or hints on things I "should not" try to do so that I would not wast my time or go the wrong path?

Thanks.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Cybersecurity

help with discovering bad passwords question

Is there of a scheme for discovering badly chosen user passwords from a Unix password file? Im not learning anything bad or trying to hack,this a question that was given to me in an information security seminar. Would password cracker be a correct answer? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jodders
1 Replies

2. IP Networking

ssh server is attachable from local network not from another network