Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Script to split text files
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to split text files Post 302405827 by phil8258 on Saturday 20th of March 2010 07:59:10 AM
Old 03-20-2010
Script to split text files

Hi All,
I'm fairly new to scripting, so need a little help to get started with this problem.
I don't mind whether I go for an awk/bash/other approach, I don't really know which would be best suited to the problem...

Lets say I have a 10000 line text file, I would like to split this up into a few smaller files. Something like:
10 line, say the last 10 lines
100 line, say the first 100 lines
1000 line, say the last 1000 lines
5000 line, say the middle 5000 lines

This I could probably manage with head & tail etc.
However, if my text file was only 1000 lines long it would now work so well. I'g get 10 and 100 lines ok, but the 3rd would give me what I already have, and I guess the 4th would fail. What I would actually want is more like:
1 line
10 lines
100 lines
500 lines

Similarly, a text file much larger than 10000 lines, I'd want to behave the same the other way, like a 100k file = 100, 1000, 10000, 50000.

The numbers of lines does not need to be exact either. I would not mind doing the splits based on a percentage of the lines in the original file. Nor would I mind if lines in the original file were selected at random.
Basically, I just want a set of small medium large larger files of whatever size, but proportional to the original. Files would not need to be unique either, line 1 in the small file, and then line 1-10 in the medium file is fine, though if it's easier I would not mind lines 2-11 in the second file.

I hope I've not over-complicated this explanation...
Would somebody please give me a steer on where to start. What should I use for this - awk?, should I try and use percentages, or try and work out absolutes that work in every situation?

Many thanks!

Phil.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting