Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Script for grepping status
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script for grepping status Post 302403689 by jderickt on Sunday 14th of March 2010 12:09:39 AM
Old 03-14-2010
Script for grepping status

I'm a newb so please be kind. I'm trying to write a script to check the status of a program running on a vncserver to know whether or not it has ended and if I need to restart the server. Here's what I've got and please I am a self taught scripter:

if [ ps ax | grep xterm | awk '{print $5}' = "xterm" ] then
serv-restart
fi

I've been searching and am not quite sure how to make work. Any hints or pointers is extremely appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Couldn't open status file /var/samba/STATUS.LCK

I believe i have most of samba configured right but i get this error each time time try to run it. I was given suggestion that i touch the file, i did, but i still cannot rid myself of this error. Any suggestions (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: macdonto
2 Replies

2. Red Hat

Installing RedHat 8.0 onto Dell PowerEdge SC1425 - hdc: status error: status = 0x58

I have successfully installed RedHat 8.0 onto a Dell PowerEdge SC1425 today. This server has two SATA hard drives, and an IDE DVD-ROM drive. Using the following kernel parameters, i successfully installed across both hard drives from CD: ide0=0x1f0,0x3f6,14 vga=791 resolution=1024x768 expert... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: fishsponge
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get the exit status of a command in nner script to the outer script?

Hi all, I have a shell script inside which i am executing another shell script. In the inner script im executing a command. i want the status of that command in the outer script to perform some validations. How to get its status please help!!1 Im using ksh. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jayaraman
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting