Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Executing expect script giving message as bad interpreter: Permission denied Post 302402350 by niks_yv on Tuesday 9th of March 2010 01:32:18 PM
Old 03-09-2010
Executing expect script giving message as bad interpreter: Permission denied

Hi Gurus,

I am new to scripting and needs your help in expect script used for telnet. I wrote a simple script as

Code:
#!/usr/bin/expect-5.43 -f
spawn telnet localhost 2233
expect "password:"
send "secret\r" 
send "i data.cnbc.com\r"
send "exit\r"
expect eof

When I am trying to execute it, it gives message as:
Code:
./expect_script.exp 
-bash: ./expect_script.exp: /usr/bin/expect-5.43: bad interpreter: Permission denied

Could you pls help me what's wrong with it?
Thanks in Advance

Regards,
niks.

Last edited by Scott; 03-09-2010 at 03:29 PM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

/bin/sh: bad interpreter: Permission denied

today i started the LFS book (version 4.0). Basically i am using slackware 9.0 to try and install a new linux completely from source on another partition. Now i took the book's recommendations and created a user called lfs so i wouldn't have to do the stuff as root, and i have got the new LFS... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Calum
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Why ' Permission denied' when executing a command?

Hi All, When I execute a command on Unix and it says 'Permission denied'. What could be the reason and how can it be resolved? Many thanks, David (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: david_wang
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

bad interpreter: Permission denied