Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to get content of a variable into text file (sed)? Post 302401551 by cfajohnson on Saturday 6th of March 2010 08:26:20 PM
Old 03-06-2010
Code:
{
 printf "%s" "[nfo]"
 cat "file.nfo"
 printf "%s\n" "[/nfo]"
} > file.txt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirecting variable content to a file!

Hello! I'm having problems trying to extract the contents of a variable and placing it into a text file. Grateful for any help. Been trying something along the lines of: $variable > file.txt or `cat < $variable` > file.txt As you can see I'm a newbie to this :D (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lloowen
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Inserting text to file, sed and variable not acting right

I want to put text stored in a variable into a file on the 7th line. I'm having trouble with this line: sed '7i\'$text'' $file It works perfectly for a single word, but fails if there are two words because of the space. I've tried several forms of quoting and this is the only one that... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fubaya
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Variable of Content From Part of Other File

I may not being doing this description justice, but I'll give it a try. I created a mailx script; there will be several messages using the same script where the only difference is the content. So I figured I'd make the content of the message a variable retrieved from a separate file. I have five... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: royarellano
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to get the specified content of the text into a variable.