Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers What is the need of ownership to a file/dir? Post 302401352 by cfkap on Friday 5th of March 2010 04:22:15 PM
Old 03-05-2010
Another question about ownership and permissions

Hello Unix community. I have a follow-up question about ownership and permissions. I am new to Unix too. In fact, I am not a programmer but an auditor. So you might say I really don't know anything! I was given the following as an answer to one of my questions. Can someone translate this in plain english for me please?

NewBREW#l /etc/su*
-r-x------ 1 root root 3560 Jan 11 2003 /etc/suds_ctrl@
NewBREW#

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix ownership from directories and file

Hi, I have newly installed sun solaris on my pc since I would like to learn something more about unix. During the installation, I had to assign a password for the super user root.After the installation, the book I am following suggested me to create a new user which I did. My home directory is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: giulianob
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

help regarding file ownership

hi friends,i have a doubt,if there is a file for which i have only read access then is there any way to execute it,plz reply soon (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: amit007
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

copying a file from one dir to another dir

hi i have a script compareFiles() { find /tmp/Satya -type f | \ while read filename1 do echo "----------------------------------------$filename1" find /tmp/Satya -type f | \ while read filename2 do if diff $filename1 $filename2 then echo "Both files... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Satyak
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

file ownership confusion