Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting SED: Removing Filenames From Paths Post 302399033 by ungalnanban on Friday 26th of February 2010 05:37:04 AM
Old 02-26-2010
MySQL

see using SED we can replace the filename in path.

Code:
sed 's%/[A-z]*$%/.%g' path

Input:
/u/dir1/dir2/dir3/file
/u/dir1/dir2/file
/u/dir1/file

Output:
/u/dir1/dir2/dir3/.
/u/dir1/dir2/.
/u/dir1/.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

removing the extension from all filenames in a folder

Hi there, I'm pretty new to UNIX and have tried trawling through this forum to find an answer to what I want to try to do, which I'm sure is very simple but I don't know how to do it. What I have a a folder that contains multiple files that I have copied from Windows and I want to remove the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnmcclintock
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing a character using sed

Hi, I have a file with the text below. How do i remove the character "%" from the text file using sed ? Can anybody help ? 0% 68% 72% 0% 54% 33% 75% 24% 6% 59% 77% 77% 33% (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Raynon
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed to isolate file paths separated by a pattern

Hi, I've been searching for a quick way to do this with sed, but to no avail. I have a file containing a long series of (windows) file paths that are separated by the pattern '@'. I would like to extract each file path so that I can later assign a variable to each path. Here is the file:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nixjennings
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Renaming Movies (or Flipping Portions of Filenames Using sed or awk)