Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Shell program with username and password Post 302398712 by thedemonhunter on Thursday 25th of February 2010 02:02:27 PM
Old 02-25-2010
vivekraj, you seem to understand what i need to do. I attempted something similar but i was having trouble comparing the two (username and password). What if i wanted to do this for multiple users? Would i use a CASE statement? such as:

Code:
case $username in
    alex ) pass=alex2;;
    sean ) pass=sean2;;
    ashley ) pass=ashley2;;
    # *) echo "error"
esac

But then i'm thinking this would affect the whole code and you would need the names as such: alex | sean | ashley.

What do you guys think?

---------- Post updated at 11:35 AM ---------- Previous update was at 10:51 AM ----------

also guys, this is what i had so far. i know it's wrong (especially the * part, it doesn't work) but like i said i am very new to this. i was trying to do this for one user first but i actually want to do multiple like i mentioned.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo "Enter login name and password"
read trythis

if [ $trythis = "Aarin_dtfc" ]
then
	echo "You are logged in!"
else [ $trythis = "Aarin_*" ]
	echo "Wrong password!"
	exit 1
else [ $trythis = "*_dtfc" ]
	echo "Login name is not recognized!"
	exit 2
fi
exit 0

---------- Post updated at 02:02 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:35 AM ----------

ok i rewrote the code to this:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "Enter username"
read username
if [ $username = "Aarin" ]
then  
 echo Enter password
 read password
case $username in
 Aarin ) pass=dtfc;;
 Rick ) pass=unpo
esac
while [ "$password" != "$pass" ]; do
 echo "Wrong password!"
 return 1
done
echo "You are logged in!" 
return 0
else
 echo "Login name not recognized"
fi
return 2

the only thing i am having trouble doing is adding multiple usernames to the if statement

Last edited by pludi; 02-25-2010 at 04:17 PM.. Reason: Please use code tags.......