Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting File move and deletion in Unix Post 302397728 by Nila on Tuesday 23rd of February 2010 02:48:12 AM
Old 02-23-2010
move operation.

mv command itself we can do that one. command is,
Code:
mv *date*

Another way,
Code:
find . -type f -iname '*20100111*.txt' -exec mv {} /target \;

Those ways are give some speed to move command.

Last edited by pludi; 02-23-2010 at 03:58 AM.. Reason: code tags, please...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Deletion of File in Unix

Hi there guys. I'm quite new in using unix and just recently experienced missing file problem. Someone accidentally or likely intentionally deleted one specific folders that contains important file. Now my question is, can any other user aside from root can do such action? Please help. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rhomel101
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

large file deletion

OS: Solaris 8 I deleted a large file (around 13 Gigs) from my system. But the output of df -k remains the same. The capacity % is constant. However one strange thing is happening- My available space is decreasing, my used space in increasing (The opposite should happen). This is happening... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: run_time_error
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Prompting for file deletion?

I got help in another forum but now I need further help so I figured I'd ask here. I had to write a script to delete certain filenames of certain size. I got this far.. find . -size 110c -name "*testing*" -print | xargs -n 1 rm -i It finds the correct files, but the prompts to delete are all... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: NycUnxer
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

want file to regenerate after deletion