Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Alias in solaris
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Alias in solaris Post 302391333 by pludi on Monday 1st of February 2010 03:46:03 AM
Old 02-01-2010
How exactly can an alias for clear be important & urgent enough to validate a violation of Rule 4
Quote:
(4) Do not 'bump up' questions if they are not answered promptly. No duplicate or cross-posting and do not report a post or send a private message where your goal is to get an answer more quickly.
As for your question: if you don't have it, create it. .bashrc is a simple bash script, the only difference to a regular script is that it's read for every new interactive shell. A minimal would look like this:
Code:
if [ -r ~/.aliases ]
then
    . ~/.aliases
fi

which would read your alias from the ~/.aliases file (as soon as you put it there).

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Alias

Hello, I'm a beginner to Unix and I want to create an alias that lists the given directory in long format; the alias should use a pager to display the result. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: guelpth
2 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

alias

Hello, I'm trying to create an alias that will show the path name of a current directory when a user cd's into any directory. I have tried the following: alias cd ' cd | pwd ' This just lists the current directory, even when I cd to another directory the alias just lists my home... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: klannon
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

alias help

Hello again, what does \!* do int his line alias lookup 'grep -i \!* who.is.who' Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kris888
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with Alias