Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to grep the contents of a variable.. Post 302385104 by funksen on Thursday 7th of January 2010 05:04:47 AM
Old 01-07-2010
Code:
find ${ORACLE_HOME}/rdbms/audit -name "*.aud" -exec grep yourstring {} \; >> $LOGFILE

Edit: I see you want to grep for every pattern found in a file, so use Franklins method

Last edited by funksen; 01-07-2010 at 06:10 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding contents of a variable to a command

hi all, i'm new to shell scripting, so i'm not sure how to work this. Is it possible to read in the contents of a variable and add it to a command? for example: ------------------------ #!/bin/sh set example = -dfr rm ${example} ------------------------ when i run the script, i want... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gammarays
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to strip out the contents of file using grep

Hi, I am receving a file from remote site which has EDI information for 830, 862 and 997 and I want to extect the data for 997 using grep's or any other methods. The data look like this: ISA~000 0000-0001-1000~997 AK1000~m 000~IEA~M ISA~000 0000-0001-1000~849 000~IEA~M ISA~000... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: isingh786
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Save contents of a Variable

I want to save the contents of a variable to a file. How can that be achieved? I have tried with: echo $varname > textfile.txt but for some reason it does not print anything. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: carl_vieyra
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

unique sort contents of a variable

Hi , I have #echo $var1 #hdisk2 hdisk3 hdisk0 hdisk2 Now I need to remove duplicate entries from this . ie. after sorting it should only have hdisk2 hdisk3 hdisk0 . I can have these values in a array as well . I understand we can use sort -u to remove the duplicates in a... (2 Replies)